Jewish Weddings

Poll (sort of): Cleaning for Passover

Hey everyone!

We are starting to clean for our first married Passover. We went shopping yesterday and got the non-perishables. We've been working on some of the cleaning and trying to finish up the chametz.

So....

Do you change your whole house over for Passover? Just part? Just eat matzah instead of bread?

Any tips for cleaning or organizing for Passover?

imageimage
October 2013 February Siggy Challenge: Valentine's Day Fail Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
EDD 10/3/13 BabyFetus Ticker

Re: Poll (sort of): Cleaning for Passover

• RedZeeRedZee member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    We will change over the whole house but we won't throw away food that's chametz but still ok (like cans). We'll just put them in a box and include them in selling our house.

I don't really have tips since I'm new to doing this on my own. But, my friend said that she made a list of everything she had for Passover when she put things away last year and it's been really helpful. We're going to try to do something like that. I hope to make a list of what we bought this year and if we don't use something or whatever, I'll take it off the list so that shopping is faster next year.
    imageimage
    October 2013 February Siggy Challenge: Valentine's Day Fail Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
    EDD 10/3/13 BabyFetus Ticker
  • edited December 2011
    We keep to the strict diet part of Passover, but haven't done the cleaning for chametz, selling of chametz, etc.  That might be something we do when we have kids later and make it a family thing.  Otherwise, we are fine just keeping this aside and buying/eating only kosher for Passover items.
  • leoraannaleoraanna member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011