Jewish Weddings

Signing the Ketubah after the ceremony?

Hi Ladies!

I'm new to the topic but have been reading a lot of the threads and you all seem so great and knowledgeable!  I'm so happy to be able to talk to other Jewish brides, because sometimes I feel like they are few and far between!

I was wondering if anybody had any thoughts about signing the Ketubah AFTER the ceremony as opposed to before.  If any of you have seen the movie "The Wedding Planner," she says that her favorite part of the ceremony is the first time that the groom sees his bride coming down the isle, and I want that moment without having him see me before the ceremony!  I also want to respect the religious aspect of signing the Ketubah, so I wanted to hear if anybody had any thoughts about what to do.  Thanks ladies! :0)

Re: Signing the Ketubah after the ceremony?

• RachiemooRachiemoo member
    First Anniversary First Comment Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011
    You should def. ask your Rabbi.  My initial reaction is that it wouldn't work because you're supposed to go to Yichud immediately after the chuppah.  It is very common in Jewish weddings for the Bride and Groom to see each other prior to the chuppah ceremony because of the Bedeken (veiling) tradition, as well as the Ketubah, and other traditions as well.  You can still have a special "first look" moment even if it isn't while you're walking down the aisle.  A lot of Jewish (and non Jewish) brides and grooms do this if they want to take photos together before the ceremony.  Again, ask your Rabbi, I have a feeling more liberal Rabbis might be okay with it but I'm not sure.  Good luck  :)
    image BabyFruit Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • RachiemooRachiemoo member
    First Anniversary First Comment Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011
    another random thought... maybe it can be signed during the chuppah ceremony? 
    image BabyFruit Ticker Baby Birthday Ticker Ticker
  • edited December 2011