Jewish Weddings
Options

Civil "elopement" and Orthodox Conversion

Hello Everyone,

I've been studying for an Orthodox conversion for a little over 2 years now.  We've reached the point where we really can't wait any longer for the civil marriage part.  (I have 2 children and that, plus health insurance, etc...)  I'm a little sad that we will have to have a civil ceremony, but there's no telling when the conversion process will complete, so we are planning to elope (with the blessing of our families) in a couple of months, right after Pesach.

We are planning a simple civil ceremony on the beach with our two children (from a previous marriage) and an officiant.  We're trying to decide which traditions might be appropriate to include, understanding that eventually when the conversion process is completed, we will have to have an Orthodox wedding.  Still, we want this to be a meaningful event for us since we've waited over 3 years for it.

Any ideas?  We are thinking of breaking a glass at the end to be made into a mezuzah for our bedroom doorway and including some verses of tehillim, but are planning to avoid anything that might be halakhically questionable.  My sponsoring Rabbi for conversion has Ok'ed this.

Thank you!

Re: Civil "elopement" and Orthodox Conversion

• Options
    Honestly, I think most of the typical traditions are fine.

While you won't sign a ketubah (since you will do that after you convert) I certainly think you could still do the seven blessings. Since you are doing something more informal it might be a really nice way to incorporate your children and guests.. have them read certain blessing, etc. 

Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options
    Thank you for the reply!

At this point, we're thinking the only tradition we will likely keep a part of the ceremony (which is going to be very brief and avoid any oaths or such that might be problematic) will be breaking a glass at the end.