Just Engaged and Proposals

7 months later and no proposal

Last V-Day after a HUGE fight my boyfriend yells at me that he was going to propose that night. (I was on new birth control so I was a little crazy that night). Anyway, I was totally excited but told him later that he should wait until the fight passes and I am not expecting it. Well, Ive been expecting it for the last 7 months since then and he still has not asked. After going to his brothers wedding together I am finally at a bitter point and just angry about the whole thing. I feel like its ruined now because Ive had too much time to dwell on it. I wish I never knew about it.  How do I get past this bump I dont want to feel like this anymore.

Re: 7 months later and no proposal

• edited December 2011
    The best advice I received before we got engaged is... "be patient and let him do it when he's ready, that way he'll be more excited about it and more willing to help with planning, etc." Trust me, I know it's hard to wait but just enjoy your life as it is right now.  Once your engaged, time will fly by and you'll look back and wonder why you ever got so angry about it in the first place!!
  • jagore08jagore08 member
    5 Love Its Combo Breaker First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I was where you are. DH and I were together for almost 10 years when we had gone to a friends wedding and it all made me so sad and angry at the whole situation. Little did I know that he had just purchased a ring a couple of days before. He had tried to propose a few times after the wedding but either I ruined it or the place didn't feel right. He finally proposed on our 10 year anniversary. (oh, I should mention that we were together since high school weren't quite ready to get married right after college. I say this because normally 10 years is a long time to wait.)
    Ignorance is a poor defense. Image and video hosting by TinyPic
  • edited December 2011