South Asian Weddings

VENT

I'm just blowing some steam!

Don't mind me, happy planning brides...and groom!

Does anyone ever feel like their life can't start until their wedding hits? I have a degree and I want to get a masters, but being in a relationship with someone who lives in another country when I have plans to move to be with them post-nuptials makes everything hard. I can't begin a masters degree...who knows when I will move? If whatever classes I start now will be of use there? If I will be able to focus and carry a long distance relationship? Better yet, the semester has started - so I couldn't apply til next year, and what then? Will I be engaged and planning a wedding? I can't study and then stop and then move and try to start again. Starting and completing my studies in one place makes more sense.

I work in a dead end retail job where the drama is out of control. As someone with a degree it is awful to stand there listening to petty commands and try to force sales on people. But I do it because I am not sure if I should find a full time job or what I should even look for - is my future boss going to understand if I have to take a few days off to go overseas or to spend here with my boyfriend if he visits? What if I need to move suddenly?

I want to start the rest of my life and get to planning this wedding and move so I can study or find a full time job and not worry about having to take time off or plannning a wedding alongside it or being in a long distance relationship. My BF has finished all his education - he has a doctorate! - and I am still trying to pursue a masters! I am feeling overwhelmed with every Aunty and Uncle turning their nose up at my job like I am an idiot! I want to have a job and a life I am proud of and move on but it can't happen until everything else takes place.

Has anyone else ever felt like this?

Re: VENT

• edited December 2011