Catholic Weddings
Options

::Calypso::

I was wondering if you'd share some of your rules for NFP/charting. I've been charting as well for 6 months (and think it's the greatest thing since sliced bread) and just wanted another perspective. Feel free to PM me if you'd rather answer privately!

- Before O, what CD to you begin abstaining?
- Once you've seen an obvious thermal shift, how many days past the thermal shift do you continue to abstain for?

Thanks!

Re: ::Calypso::

• Options
    Calypso1977Calypso1977 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Answer Combo Breaker
    edited December 2011
    hey!  i'll talk about pretty much anything on here, especially if it may help others.

i'm starting my 12th chart - i cannot beleive i've been doing this nearly a year.  i love it!  its so easy! 

all the rules i follow are from TCOYF.  i seem to be ovulating around days 13-14.  we follow the "five first days rule" from TCOYF, which says that the first five days are safe as long as you had the obvious thermal shift in the prior month.  these days, my period is only about 1 day, others may be on their period all 5 of those days (which, i personally dont like to have sex on my period).   then, you are technically safe the evening of every dry day after that.  however, my fluids still appear to be somewhat ambiguous - i am blaming this on the hormones i may still possibly be flushing after 10+ years of pill use.  we generally abstain starting around day 7-8, although i could probably go a few more days - we'd rather play it safe.

As far as after the shift, i wait until the evening of the 3rd day after my temp has stayed above the coverline.   sometimes my temps over at one degree above teh coverline - when this happens, i wait an extra day or two beyond that just to be safe.  once or twice, my temp has dropped below the coverline, so then i start the count all over again.