Catholic Weddings
Options

Incorporating Traditional (Latin) Details into a Mixed Wedding?

I haven't yet met with my priest to discuss the wedding, but so that I don't show up with several hundred questions, I thought I would pick the brains of you ladies first. 

I'm a graduate student studying the European Middle Ages and have developed an interest in the liturgical and doctrinal history of the Church.  Because of that, I have gained a great appreciation for the Latin Mass.  I alternate between attending Tridentine Mass and the English Mass regularly held at my parish, but even the English Mass incorporates Latin hymns and is very traditional compared to other parishes I have been a part of.  Ideally, I would have a traditional Tridentine Nuptial Mass, but my situation isn't exactly conducive to that option.

My fiancè and I are both trained in Latin, so I have no doubt that he would be able to follow the Latin Mass  (not really sure what to call a Tridentine Nuptial Mass that is technically outside of Mass), though I would of course explain the significance of each part to him, since he is not Catholic.  His family and mine, however, are mostly Protestant or aetheist and therefore would probably not experience the Latin Mass as it is supposed to be (as a deeply religious event) but rather as something ancient, outdated, and possibly just for show.

I would love to find a way to have my wedding in a way that incorporates my love of traditional Catholicism while also making both families comfortable, so I'm leaning towards having a English ceremony (outside of Mass) with Latin elements.  Does anyone have any ideas of how to do this or recommendations for other solutions?
After five years he finally asked! Wedding Countdown Ticker imageLilySlim Weight loss tickers imageVisit The Nest!

Re: Incorporating Traditional (Latin) Details into a Mixed Wedding?

• Options
    lalaith50lalaith50 member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Comment Name Dropper