Catholic Weddings
Options

Living together and Methodist helper?

Good afternoon! I am not catholic, but many of my family members are and we are considering having our wedding in a catholic church.  I have attended several masses (without taking communion) and are thinking going through the steps to become catholic.  I have a couple of questions though about converting and the wedding ceremony.  We live together and I am not sure how this is handled.  I know it is not a deal breaker, but the website said that the priest will share all the issues with it.  Has any one gone through this before and can share any experiences?  Also, my father is not "giving me away" and I would like him to be involved in the ceremony.  He is Methodist.  Does anyone know any issues?  Thank you! I am really new to this :-)

Re: Living together and Methodist helper?

• Options
    mlhw NHmlhw NH member
    First Comment First Anniversary
    edited December 2011
    FI and I are living together.  I went through the RCIA process (the process to recieve the sacraments including confirmation)  only because I wanted to, NOT because of the wedding.  I have some people in my life that still don't understand this, but anyway!