Catholic Weddings

ceremony music

hey everyone!! I need some advice.  I will be becoming fully Catholic at the Easter Vigil this year so I am new to the Church and have not attended very many Catholic weddings.  I know that the song choices have to be more traditional, and contemporary songs are not an option. I do however want music that is not overwhelmingly traditional.  It is not that I hate traditional music it is just that I would really like some songs that arn't played at EVERY Catholic wedding.  Anyone have any suggestions of songs to play that will work at a Catholic wedding but are a bit different?  We are also not having a full mass so we won't need to have to a communion song.  Any suggestions would be great.  Thanks everyone! 

Re: ceremony music

• edited December 2011
    In my parish, we were allowed to choose any songs we wanted as long has they had a sacred message.  Most of the songs I selected are contemporary gospel and urban gospel songs.  I would recommend a talk with your priest to determine how much flexibility you may have.
  • edited December 2011
    It depends on how strict the Priest is that is marrying you. For example, my FI wanted "Here Comes the Bride" aka the Wedding March played at our wedding. After discussing it with our church organist and her checking on it with the Priest, he said no b/c it was not sacred and approved by the church. The song is actually from one of Shakespeare's plays and it is about a couple in the bedroom...lol, but it wasn't allowed. But, don't let this discourage you from choosing a non-traditional song, but just make sure you ask your Priest and/or organist so there are no surprises.  A great website to check out in planning your wedding is: catholicweddinghelp.com. Almost all of your answers to any of your questions will be there. It has been a great help to my FI and I in our planning.