Pennsylvania-Central

suggestions on reception location

Hello ladies! I seem to be stuck in finding a reception location. I'm new to the knot so I hope I could find some good researches. We would like the reception to be held either in Reading, Lancaster, York or Hershey. Pretty much a 30 minute radius from Lancaster. 

Only thing is, we would like to use a chinese cater. So we would need a place that would allow outside catering and holds 250-300 guests. We would prefer a full working kitchen since our cater might be traveling at least an hour or so. 

I would appreciate any ideas. Thanks ahead of time! 

Re: suggestions on reception location

• edited December 2011
    What about Liberty Place?  You will have to decorate it the way you want to, but it can be very pretty.  I once did a wedding there and it was beautiful.  Large space, kitchen, an area for cocktails, free parking, etc... 

Good luck!
  • edited December 2011
    I helped a catering company do a wedding there once. They don't allow the caterer to use the stove/oven but we can use the kitchen to prep. The Liberty place is lovely though. It would've been perfect. Thanks alot. Laughing
  • sweneylsweneyl member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I was looking into the Lancaster JCC.  They have a brand new ballroom called The Legacy.  It is really pretty. I think it is big enough to hold all of your guests as well.  They have a full kitchen that the caterer of your choice can use.  The place was brand new when I was looking at it.  At the time you could use any caterer you want but it could have changed by now.  I would recommend looking at it at least.  The outside building is not much to look at but the inside is beautiful and they have a fireplace lounge for the cocktail hour.

Hope that helps!
  • edited December 2011