Students

Sophomore in college and newly engaged (ish)

Hey fellow student brides! I thought I'd introduce myself. I'm a sophomore in college (20 in less than a month!) and so is my boy. Him and I were best friends all freshmen years (same college, he is just 3 months younger than me.) and finally came together this past September. 

Things just started falling into place and as much as we've talked about it and considered it, we're waiting to be "officially" engaged until next fall when we will have been going out a year. Reasons for that being financially we're just starting to save and talk about how we each handle finances and making sure we're compatible and also because of social norms. 

Did anyone have issues with parents? Right now we're worrying that even after a year that parents won't be 100% supportive. We're confident in ourselves and what we are doing. We aren't getting married until end of September 2014 when we both will have our undergraduate degrees and he will be working part time while also doing his Architecture Masters program. We're just saving and planning.

Anyone in a similiar situation? I'm open to all advice and opinions.

Re: Sophomore in college and newly engaged (ish)

• I'm in a very similar situation!

I'm 20, and my fiance and I started dating in August, and got engaged in October. We know we went against the grain of social norms and whatnot, but after a lot of prayer and thought, it was what we felt was right for us.

We haven't had much trouble with families. A little concern from his that's mostly gone away now (but nothing serious), and complete support from my family.

I admire your patience in waiting to get finances and other things in order without the pressure of time. Justin and I are getting married this summer. Although we know we can do it, getting everything together so quickly has been stressfull.