Students

What do you mean I can't graduate?!?

UGH! Ok so I have to vent for a minute.

So when I graduated high school I started at a small college. I finished my core classes (and 2 years of school) and transferred to a 4-yr university. When I began taking my core math classes, the department gave everyone an opportunity to take a "placement" test. In other words, you exempt the easy classes and supposedly are placed into the class that is best set to your abilities. Well I skipped college algebra (1111), and was placed in trigonometry (1113). Ok-- that's great, I'm "smarter" than the average bear? I can dig it. Whatever.

HA, apparently not because it never dawned on me that my NEXT school, my new university, wouldn't accept this 1113 as a core math class. So I appealed that ruling when I transferred in 2008. They told me that it wasn't a problem; they would accept it since I took it at another school and everything would be fine.

Well it's 2010 now. Time to graduate in December. Guess what they DON'T have on file?

Right. I'm graduating in December with an entire bachelor's degree and I'm missing a CORE MATH CLASS. YOU'VE GOT TO BE KIDDING ME. No one that I've talked to is any help at all. I've gotten "you need to call the Board of Regents," "you'll have to take it next semester," and blah blah blah. LOOK people-- if you would have done  your job and kept good records this would not be a problem. I know I'm one in a million to you, but this is very important to me!!! I don't want to have to take ONE class next semester! I want to graduate! Come on!

End rant.

Re: What do you mean I can't graduate?!?

• Do you have a record of them accepting this? I got a class to transfer for a chemistry class here that they at first wouldnt accept but I appealed it and they decided it counted and actually mailed me a copy of the paper, so I made sure to keep that copy in a safe place. That really sucks though...sorry about that.