Students

Tell Me About the GRE!

Should I buy a review book? Can you compare it to another test (FCAT, SAT/ACT)?

I'm hoping to take the GRE over the summer and am applying to grad school in the Fall for Spring 2013. 

I'm really concerned about the math portion. 

Thanks!

imageUntitledmy read shelf:
Faith (FaithCaitlin)'s book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)

Re: Tell Me About the GRE!

• Not bad at all. I think I studied for it a weekend before I took it, and got into one of the top 5 engineering schools in the country.

I did buy a GRE prep book,but the questions are taken on the computer. So if you get them right,they get harder.

The only thing I really prepped for was the time constraint. It is a timed test. So this is where my prep book helped. It got me used to the type of question and what context clues to look for.

Truthfully, I feel at this point how you do will always be in a range. Studying and going crazy and learning a bunch of new things doesn't really help you. You should have a solid foundation and know how to apply that knowledge base. Take a deep breathe, make sure you are in a good mental state, and show them what you know.

For grad school I would make sure your GPA and recommendations are sparkling. The GRE seemed to be a tie breaker because everyone who applies usually has good, or comparable, GRE scores.

Good luck!
  • I agree with RKJ... I just used the little CD they sent to review the math the night before, but it really depends on what you already know.  It is really strange how the questions get harder and sometimes I could tell while other times, if I knew too many anwers in a row, I would kind of freak out because that meant that I had gotten some wrong.  To me it was kind of a mind game...
    Photobucket
  • I purchased a prep book and did some online questions through the princeton review.  I think doing practice tests in a timed manner helped best.