Students

End of the year party?

So here's my situation:

I'm a music student who will graduate in May 2011, but my wedding is in December 2010. I don't have a large budget but I have a lot of friends and family. Since I want to celebrate with everyone, I thought it would be a good idea to have two events: 

one in December, right after my wedding for close friends and family, hence a lower guest list and cheaper reception. We're planning on using catering for this event, paper invitations, flowers, etc. It would be semi-formal.

and

one in May, for all my university friends, fraternity brothers and sisters, etc. who weren't invited to our wedding. My fiance and I would hold an end-of-the-year party and celebrate our "six-month-iversery." Haha! This would be a very informal event. My logic is that easy to please college students with kegs, snacks, and sheet cake. It's harder to please family that way.

Let me know your thoughts. I like that doing something like this allows me to have both aspects of a semi-formal and casual wedding. I'm sure I'm overlooking cons.

Re: End of the year party?

• Personally, I don't have a problem with it. However, just because I've seen similiar questions on other boards, I feel like I should share the sentiments I've seen.

Apparently a lot of people think having a separate event for people not invited to the wedding is a big faux pas. It might send a message to them like, "Hey, you weren't important enough to be invited to my actual wedding, but here's a consolation prize."
    Now, I can see where they're coming from I guess, but again personally, I think it's not a big deal. And with your situation, being a student, and probably a lot of your friends being students, or may live far away, December may not be the most opportune time, so having an end of the year bash makes some sense.