Students

Newbie Knottie: Wedding Dress....too soon?

So I'm a newbie on The Knot- just engaged on Thanksgiving :)
We set the date of May 26th, 2012 (Memorial Day Weekend) and I'm wondering from all of you student brides-to-be if it is too soon to start looking for my dress? With the winter break from classes coming up, I won't be busy with papers, tests, and classes, so it seems like a good idea. Plus, once school starts back up, I probably won't be able to look until the summer, which puts us at around 11 months until the wedding. Let me know what you think :) 

Re: Newbie Knottie: Wedding Dress....too soon?

• I wouldn't purchase until you're about a year out.  Styles change, new things will come out, and I've heard more than one story of a bride who bought a dress and then found another she loved closer to her wedding date.  Feel free to start looking, but don't feel like you have to buy now, you've got tons of time.
  • I'm getting married this May (2011) - also Memorial Day weekend, yay!

I purchased my dress this past May (2010), so I waited until I was about a year out. I did do one not very serious dress shopping excursion around Christmastime in 2009. Definitely start looking for styles you like, etc. But I would not start seriously looking until 12-13 months out, as other posters said.

Good luck!
  • I agree with the other ladies, I'm getting married June 9, 2012 and also my bf is getting married Sept. 2, 2012 we have swapped ideas and started looking at styles but I really don't plan on buying anything till winter break next year. 
    Graphics Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • I'm getting married February 11, 2012 and will be looking for my dress on my spring break (March 2011). Go over your spring break, or you can push it until your summer break of 2011.
    Anniversary
  • I do not think it is too soon to look. When we decided to get married I went straight out. I found the perfect dress but didn't buy it until october...(were getting married in June)