Florida-North Florida
Options

NWR: Teachers Needed?

Greetings knotties of Florida, I come for a bit of advice.  I graduated in 2005 with my bachelors in elementary education and have yet to find a teaching job despite having substitute taught for years.  I've moved from Indiana to Ohio but still nothing and I grow more and more discouraged by the day as I see more schools lay off teachers.

I've heard conflicting reports about your state of Florida needing teachers.  Some sites state that you're in need and others say Florida has their max just like the midwest.  Does anyone know what the outlook is for teaching jobs there?  My Indiana license allows me to teach 1-6, and 7-8 depending and my Ohio is k-3.  Both are currently valid.

Thank you so much for your help.  I know it's not wedding related and I apologize in advance but I needed some local opinion.  Hope everyone has a good rest of their week!
Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml

Re: NWR: Teachers Needed?

• Options
    janedoe1113ajanedoe1113a member
    5 Love Its Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    It completely depends on the area.  I know Leon county is not looking for teachers at all because we're a college town and a lot of college students stay to work here.  Other counties though, I'm sure are looking for teachers.
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    Like Navybaby said, it really depends on your county.  In Gainesville where I live, teaching jobs are really competive because we have new teachers graduating from the University of Florida every semester. 

I am working on my BA in elementary education right now, and I think I may have to go to another city to find work.  :/
  • Options
    edited December 2011