Illinois-Chicago

Beautiful and UNIQUE reception venue without lofty feel?

Hello!  I am new to the knot and newly engaged!  My fiance and I are looking for a reception venue that is outside the box of hotels and banquet halls but that doesn't have that industrial loft feel.  We live in the north/northwest suburbs so that area would be ideal, but we are open to any suggestions!  Thank you so so much!

Re: Beautiful and UNIQUE reception venue without lofty feel?

• ARJ6511ARJ6511 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    What about a country club? That isn't too banquet-like and it isn't a hotel. Most have patios where you could do an outdoor cocktail hour if weather permits. 
    BabyFruit Ticker www.MyVacationCountdown.com Ticker
  • aimers1525aimers1525 member
    Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Congrats and welcome! How about:
    -Brookfield Zoo
    -Cuneo Mansion
    -Cantigny
    -Mayslake Peabody Estate
  • MobKazMobKaz member
    First Anniversary First Comment First Answer 5 Love Its
    edited December 2011
    The north and NW burbs can be fairly expansive.  It would help if you could be more specific in terms of the area you are looking.  Also, do you have an estimate of your guest count?  Would you be having the ceremony there as well?

The Makray in Barrington has the feel and look of a Scottish castle.  It has amazing "curb appeal".  The Byron Colby Barn in Grayslake is very unique, but is not all inclusive, so it takes a bit more work to plan an event there.  Independence Grove in Libertyville is nice, as is Kemper Lakes in Long Grove.  Mansion-esque facilities range from venues in Lake Forest to the Lehman Mansion in Lake Villa.  There is an open art gallery in Harvard. The Metopolis Ballroom in Arlington Heights, and the Genessee Theatre in Waukegan, are reminiscent of a theatre.