Hawaii
Options

Time of reception and wedding guest lodging help!

Hi everyone!! I'm a Knot newbie and must say that I am addicted to this website. It has so many great tips and vendor reviews from everyone here! loove it! Were planning on getting marry in Maui May 2012 and expecting ~20-30 guests. If we have a beach wedding then it will be perform in the morning. I was wondering what time is the dinner reception usually held? And what does your guest do in between morning ceremony and the reception? Were also thinking about renting a vacation house for the family and having the reception at that site. Does anyone have any recommendation for a 4-5 bedroom house? Thanks guys :)

~Cyn

Re: Time of reception and wedding guest lodging help!

• Options
    edited December 2011
    Welcome to the board!

Whenever it is you want to have the reception is up to you. There's no appropriate point for it to start. As a guest, my personal preference is having the ceremony and the reception back to back. I have a hard time switching in and out of party mode (and attire). I like going, doing my thing and being done with the event rather than having to commit to finishing it off later in the day. Because I tend to want to be engaged in the event, be requested to put my brain on hold for several hours is a PITA.

But seriously, that's just me. I'm sure other people are more than capable of going off and doing their own thing.

Now that I think about it though... I would LOVE for a gap between a ceremony and reception to be taken up by a scavenger hunt or some kind of game. I'm pretty much a gigantic kid when it comes to that sort of thing!