Hawaii

DW?

I'm just getting started on planning my DW to Hawaii. Is there any proper etiquette on offering to pay for people traveling to the wedding? Should I offer to cover any travel expenses..rooms...etc?
I'm only inviting family and a few close friends.

Re: DW?

• edited December 2011
    Welcome and congratulations!  There is no expectation for you to pay for any guest travel to destination weddings.  At minimum, you should have a reception to thank guests for attending and if possible, one other event (rehearsal dinner, drinks, brunch, BBQ, etc) as an extra thank you, just like you would host for out of town guests at home.

Some people also like to budget to help with travel for key guests (bridal party, parents, etc).  This usually is not for the entire trip, but maybe 1-2 nights in the group hotel, etc.  This is a very nice gesture but definitely not in any way required.

Hope that helps!  You may also find this thread helpful:
    http://forums.theknot.com/Sites/theknot/Pages/Main.aspx/wedding-theme-boards_destination-weddings_destination-wedding-etiqutte-q
  • FSForeverFSForever member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Welcome and Congrats!
    Be careful about what you offer to pay for. I wish we had planned everything we wanted first and then made the offers.  We did it the opposite and offered first.  It will all work out but there are some things I would have liked to do that are now on hold because we want to make sure we can follow through with those commitments. 
  • kimmykupcakeskimmykupcakes member
    5 Love Its First Anniversary Combo Breaker First Comment
    edited December 2011
    You don't have to pay for anything for travel and lodging.  If you were having your wedding at home, you wouldn't pay for out of town guests to come to your wedding.  If you can afford to help, it can be a nice gesture, but is not required or expected. We aren't paying for any of our guests travel or lodging.
  • jtolyjtoly member