Iowa-Des Moines

temple for performing arts?

Hi, my name is Rachel, I'm new to the knot! So it's nice to meet everyone :). Although our wedding isn't going to be until may or june 2012 (dad insists I wait till I graduate college!) we are starting to look around for places to have our ceremony and reception. I'm really interested in the temple for performing arts in downtown Des Moines, I was thinking having the ceremony in the recital hall and then the reception in the larger grand hall. I was just wondering if anyone else here has had their wedding there and what their experience was like with it?

Also, if anyone else has any other places around Des Moines to suggest for our wedding (we want an indoor wedding, don't want to get my heart set on an outdoor wedding and have it ruined by this unpredictable Iowa weather!) that would be great! I've been having a hard time finding places that aren't churches and synagogues.

Thanks for any help!

Re: temple for performing arts?

• medusia00medusia00 member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Welcome and Congrats!!!

I love the Temple!! Soo pretty, however very pricy!! But if you can afford it! Go for it!

They do have a contract with a caterer, I can not for the life of me right now remember who its. So make sure you like the food!!

I don't mean to sound down about the Temple, if I could afford to have my wedding there I TOTALLY would!!!

Once again, welcome!! Hope to hear lots from you!!
    Sept 11, April Siggy, HM Picture!!
    On a Boat, with our Flippy-Floppies!
    Anniversary
    Want to see my Bio? PM Me!!
    Wifey Shenanigans & Day Zero
  • edited December 2011
    The Temple for the Performing Arts is gorgeous and they are a breeze to work with. You do have to use the Embassy Club as your caterer, but their food is phenomenal.