Louisiana-New Orleans
Options

SecondLine in New Orleans

Hey everyone! I am getting married 12/7/2013 at The Board of Trade and really want to do a second line! First, has anyone used the Storyville Stompers? If so, what is your experience?? I don't really want to go out after the wedding, so I was thinking of doing the second line in between the ceremony and reception so they can break down the ceremony area. I am using the same chairs for the reception. I just wanted a few opinions on having the second line in between the ceremony and reception, even though we will go back to The Board of Trade.

I am new to this, so any feedback would be appreciated!!!! Thanks!!!

Re: SecondLine in New Orleans

• Options
    edited December 2012
    I don't have experience with secondlining from and to the same location, as I had two venues, but when I was venue scouting, the venues that do ceremony + reception said it's very common to have the second line while the venue is changing things over for the reception. I don't see why it would be a problem! It will still be tons of fun.  

I used the Storyville Stompers and have nothing but raves! They were very responsive and easy to work with, showed up right on time and sounded awesome. I got married at the Beauregard-Keyes House and had my reception on the second floor of Muriel's. The Stompers came out onto the balcony overlooking the courtyard at the BK House where we were having our cocktail hour and started playing there, then led us all through the house out onto the street, paraded us to Jackson Square, and then they led us up the stairs at Muriel's. They played one last song (When the Saints Go Marching In) in our room at Muriel's and everyone sang along. It was the most FABULOUS way to kick off the reception that I could possibly imagine. So worth it - way more than worth it.

• Options