Michigan-Detroit
Options

Maiden Name...Are You Keeping Yours???

So, I was poking around online today and came across a blog post where a recent newlywed was writing about her decision to keep her own last name. I thought it was interesting and just as an interesing topic of discussion...I wondered what everyone here was doing...are you changing your last name? Hyphenating? Why or why not?

Re: Maiden Name...Are You Keeping Yours???

• Options
    jleigh1902jleigh1902 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I will be changing my last name. I never really thought of reasons why I am other than that's just what you do! Smile But I love my FI and am proud to take his last name and I have no reason not to.
  • Options
    jodyk23jodyk23 member
    First Anniversary First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I'm taking FI's name as well. I'm am pretty traditional and it's not like I'm a doctor or other professional where I'm well know. That would be the only case where I would consider keeping my last name. There was a discussion on this earlier. I guess if you legally change you name to include both names, but don't hyphenate, you can legally sign either last name. But if you hyphenate, you must sign exactly like that. Just another option!
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    i'm taking my fiances last name. it's not something i ever thought about it was just a given in my head but now that i think about it, when we do have kids i want my lastname to be the same as theirs... woohooo for new lastnames Laughing

Anniversary

TTC since March 2011
    DX: MFI
    Taking a break from being poked and prodded
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    Lol...I love the whoo hoo so early in the am !!! I guess its not that early ....
  • Options
    edited December 2011

lol well if your just waking up its early... such lucky people who get to sleep in. i been up since 6 and at work since 7, counting down to 3pm

Anniversary

TTC since March 2011
    DX: MFI