Michigan-Detroit
Options

I'm new to everything!!

Hi all! I just got engaged last month on Dec 15th, 2012. I don't even know where to begin planning for this wedding. I joined TheKnot to help, but I feel like I am in sensory overload. Any help would be appreciated.

I first started by picking my bridesmaids/MOH (4-5) and the colors for the wedding (pink and gray). What is my next step? I don't have a budget as I don't know what we are looking to do.

I have a degree in history and live in the Royal Oak/Detroit area and want some historical significance in my wedding. 

Help! 

Re: I'm new to everything!!

• Options
    You should set your budget first.  That way you know what you can afford and what ideas are too expensive.

We set our budget first.  Then drafted a guest list.  Once we knew how much we could afford and how many people we wanted to invite, we looked for venues that were in our price range and were the right size to accommodate our guests.  Once we found a venue that we loved we put a deposit down to secure our date. 

For picking our date, we just asked which Saturdays were available in Fall 2013 and then chose the one that worked best for us.  Once you have a venue/date you can worry about the other stuff like photographers, etc.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Options
    Welcome to the Detroit board! Congrats on your engagement.