Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Seating Chart - How to formally address children, etc.

Hi,I'm new to this message board.  I didn't see my question answered already, but if it has been I apologize.We are having a relatively small reception (under 50), so we decided to display a seating chart with the guests' names next to the tables.  We had wanted to address the guests formally (e.g. Mr., Mrs., Dr., etc.), but I've run into some problems about how to address my younger unmarried cousins.Boys: Some sources say that boys under around the age of 13 should be addressed as "master" and other sources seem to say that no title is needed.  "Master" seems a bit outdated would look strange next to the abbreviated titles, since to my knowledge "master" has no abbriviation.  Since only a handful of my guests would fall into this category anyway, I wanted to know if it would be acceptiable to refer to them as "Mr."  I think my youngest male guest is 10, and he might wonder why his counsins who are only a few years older are addressed as "Mr." while he is not.Girls/Young Women: I had been under the impression that unmarried women were correctly addressed as "Miss."  However, apparently my thinking is really old fashioned.  One source said that in contemporary usage women 18 and older have a choice of "Miss" or "Ms." depending on their personal preference.  If that preference isn't known, I should go with "Ms." which is safer.  (I had thought the rule was that if I didn't know, I should use "Ms." but that if I did know, I could use "Miss.")  If I follow this rule, that I have to confirm everyone's age (which I don't remember since I've been out of the country for several years and am significantly elder than many of my cousins).  And it's possible that two siblings of slightly different age will have different titles.  Now I'm wondering if I should just refer to all the unmarried women "Ms." regardless of age and save myself a lot of trouble.This all seems unbelievably tedious t