Wedding Etiquette Forum

Do I have to invite the spouses of my staff?

I'm a teacher at a really small school....we have a total of 14 staff including teachers, principal, secretary and custodian. I'm getting married in October, 2010 and I will be inviting my principal and the other teachers at my school. Because we are such a small school, I'm inviting all of the teachers in order to avoid any hurt feelings. However, here's what I need to know:

#1) Do I also need to invite our custodian? We don't always get along and I don't really want to. But, am I obligated to?

#2) As I said, I'm inviting all of the other teachers in order to avoid offending anyone, and to be honest, I do want MOST of them there. HOwever, since we are holding our ceremony and reception in the same venue and at times very close together, everyone at the ceremony will also be present for the dinner/reception. Am I obligated to invite the spouses of the other teachers? I don't really want to, nor do I have the money to invite them (it would be an additional 12 people to invite/pay for). My future MIL says that I should allow my principal to bring his wife, and then invite the teachers individually, and explain to them personally the reasons why their spouses are not invited. Thoughts?
IAmPregnant Ticker Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Re: Do I have to invite the spouses of my staff?

• If you invite a married/engaged guest, yes, you must invite his/her spouse.
    The Bee Hive Est. June 30, 2007
    "So I sing a song of love, Julia"

BFAR:We Defined Our Own Success!

• My thoughts are that it's incredibly rude and insulting to be invited sans spouse, and you're going to have less hurt feelings if you choose not to invite your workmates than you will have should you invite them without significant others.