Wedding Etiquette Forum
Options

Divorced parents' wedding pictures?

I love the idea of old pictures from grandparents' and parents' weddings being featured as decor for the cocktail hour or reception. However, both mine and my fiance's parents are divorced (only my Dad is remarried). Everyone gets along amicably (thank goodness!), but I'm stlil wondering whether it's a good idea to feature pictures from their big days from so long ago when their marriages didn't last. I haven't brooched the subject with any of them yet, and I'm debating whether it's worth it. As an aside, while I love my stepmother, I wouldn't want to have a picture of her and my Dad's wedding, because I'm not a product of it. Would that be wrong too?

Re: Divorced parents' wedding pictures?

• Options
    Simply FatedSimply Fated member
    First Anniversary 5 Love Its First Answer Name Dropper
    edited March 2013
    Omigosh I would definitely not put up pictures of the parents' wedding. That's just me, though. My parents had a fairly amicable divorce, but I know it would bother people, including my parents. Maybe just put up the grandparents' pictures?
  • Options
    I would skip this whole idea.
    Proud to be an old married hag!! image
  • Options
    Yeah, this just sounds like a bad idea.  Even with amicable divorces, that could still be super awkward.

I was worried about how my dad would react to me wearing my mom's dress.  To be honest, I'm not entirely sure he noticed.

• Options
    Skip it. It'd be weird to have a picture of your parents marriage if they're not together. it'd also probably be REALLY awkward for your stepmom.
  • Options
    I agree with everyone else.  Just skip this.  If I were one of the parents and my wedding picture from a failed marriage was being displayed I would feel highly embarrassed even if I was on good terms with my ex.

• Options