North Carolina
Options

Day Trip Ideas?

Just found out the hubby is going to be off on Monday and I was thinking of surprising him by going to a day trip somewhere. Since we've gotten married, we've spent our weekends cleaning up and settling into the house and I'd really just like to get away for a day and do something fun. So any ideas? We live in Wilkes so something close would be good. And something cheap too :)

Re: Day Trip Ideas?

• Options
    edited December 2011
    I vote for Boone!!  I'm an Appalachian grad and absolutely LOVE that area! 
  • Options
    Beth0882Beth0882 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Depends on what you like to do...there are tons of great hiking trails in the Boone/Blowing Rock area.  If you like to just walk around cute little towns there are tons of those in the mountains too!  If you like wine, you can head down to the Yadkin Valley and spend the day winery-hopping. (If you go this route, I can recommend our favorites, we've been to most in that area).  Tastings are usually $5-$10 each depending on hwo many wines they let you taste.  We usaully hit 4-5 in a day when we go. 

Thats all I can come up with in that half of the state right now!
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    I don't know if this is near you, but DH and I went to Hanging Rock one day.  All I know is that, coming from Raleigh, it's past Greensboro.  We had a little picnic at some picnic tables and then they have several little trails you can do.  We are NOT serious hikers or anything, so we did a few short trails and saw a waterfall.  Then we got brave and did the "hanging rock" trail (which takes you to the top of hanging rock).  It was super fun and we got some awesome pictures at the top! One of my favorite pictures of us is from that trip -- sitting side by side with our legs hanging off the cliff....and someone took it from behind :)
    image Matt & Ashley 5.08.10
  • Options
    edited December 2011