North Carolina

XP: maybe relocating to NC from CT

Hi girls!  FI might be relocating to NC for work.  This depends a little on if I can find work or not.  I'm a registered nurse which is usually good for jobs, but I have read unemployment in NC is kind of high right now.  We're taking a trip down in a couple weeks to scout out some areas.  We're looking for a small town feel where we can buy some land and build on it.  Right now we're looking at Warrenton and Oxford.  We're pretty flexible on where to look as he'll have more of a regional position, so if you all have any suggestions, I'd love to hear them!  We're a little wary of hurricaines so even though I'd love to be near the beach, I think we'll be staying away from the coast.  Our goal is to get about 5+ acres for $10,000 or under, so that's narrowing our search quite a bit. 
  The move will be tough but I'm excited for better weather, friendlier people and a slower paced living!!
8/12 March Siggy- reception venue!
imageWedding Countdown Ticker

Re: XP: maybe relocating to NC from CT

• I had friends that lived in both Oxford and Henderson and they really liked it. Durham is only a 45 minute or so drive from Oxford if you wanted to visit the city. The outer banks are only like 3-4 hours away too.

I'm not sure where you'll find 5 acres for $10k. The lowest I've seen anywhere was around $2500 an acre and that was a few years ago. Good luck!
    FOR SALE - www.sd31942.weebly.com
  • We're in Fuquay which is a really cute little town. It's growing though, but not too much as the board wants it to stay nice and 'homey' feeling.

It's convenient to Apex, Cary and Raleigh (all about 20-30 mins away). Durham is about 45-50 pending on traffic. Fayetteville is about an 45-1hour away. The beaches vary between 2 - 7 hours pending on which you'd like to visit. Charlotte is about 3 hours away.