Indiana
Options

Out of Town Guests

We are going to have several guest coming in from out of town for our wedding.  Most of them will be staying in a hotel.  Did any body do "Out of Town Guest Bags" for those coming in town for your wedding?  If so, what did you include in them?

Re: Out of Town Guests

• Options
    edited December 2011
    We didn't have a lot of out of town guests, but here are some of the things I have seen in bags:

Bottle of water for each guest, candy/snacks, tylenol, local favorite bottle of wine or couple bottles of beer, maps to the church and reception (incase they don't bring the one for the invite), guides/maps with local attractions...
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    Olivia:

I was a hotel sales manager and about 50% of my clients were brides and their families, so we did welcome bags quite a bit. The best things to include are:

• Water (at least two bottles)
    • Chips or candies
    • Granola or NutriGrain bars
    • Gum or breath mints
    • Tylenol/Aspirin
    • Local guides (the hotels will have piles and piles of these)
    • Cheapo crayons/coloring books for kids (the hotel may have these, too)
    • A welcome note with directions to the venue(s), a reminder of the wedding schedule, and a quick thank you for coming so far to be a part of the wedding

I typically advised skipping on the alcohol for all guests since it can add quite a bit to the bill for welcome bags, but it's definitely a nice touch for important guests (parents, grandparents, mega-BFFs, etc.) who may be interested.