Maine
Options

Newcomer - advice on an intimate wedding?

Hi everyone!

This is my first time posting on this board, but I'm wondering if any of you lovely ladies would be willing to offer some advice.  After much waffling, my fiance and I have decided to get married in Maine next summer, just the two of us.  Neither of us has ever been to Maine before, which is part of what makes this even more exciting, but it also means that I am completely clueless!  I've gotten some things cooking from trolling previous threads (and thank you, by the way, for ideas you've already inspired!), but does anyone have any suggestions on where to have a small wedding like ours?  and, even more importantly, where to eat afterward?  We really want the true Maine experience (as corny as that kind of sounds, haha).  Anything you're willing to share would be great!

Many thanks,
Lindsey

Re: Newcomer - advice on an intimate wedding?

• Options
    edited December 2011
    Did you want to get married in the coastal area or the great outdoors such as mountains and lakes?
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    We got married on the Schooner Nathanial Bowditch, and it was a fabulous experience!  (See pics a couple of posts down).  We had a small wedding (47 guests can fit on the sailboat), but when searching there were several schooners that did weddings of different sizes.  I would consider sailing part of the Maine experience :)  We had a fish chowder for lunch, though they will do anything - I know they've done lobster bakes and the likes.  The food was amazing!

Anyway, if you like to sail, they do a lot of 3 or 4 or 5 night sails, and the captain is a licensed notary, so you could always join a trip and then get married.  I think that's what we would have done if we were just planning a wedding for the 2 of us.  And we'll definitely be going on one of their longer sails for an anniversary. 
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml
  • Options
    edited December 2011