September 2012 Weddings

Anyone else NOT going on a honeymoon?

I'm feeling pretty jealous of all you gals going on beautiful honeymoons to Hawaii, Mexico, Europe, the Caribbean....

FI and I aren't taking one, partially for financial reasons but also because I'm a teacher and he's starting law school, so school will be JUST starting up for both of us right around wedding time. Yeah, we probably didn't do the best job picking a date that would accomodate all this, but our date worked well for our families and our officiant, which was really important.

Anyway, we are thinking we will go on a big trip either around Christmas time or summer 2013. I'm also thinking now that we should take a long weekend trip sometime either in the month before the wedding or the month after.

If you're not going on a "real" honeymoon, what are you doing? Planning a big trip later? Taking a small trip shortly before or after the wedding? I need ideas!

Re: Anyone else NOT going on a honeymoon?

• We're doing a mini-moon right after the wedding- we want to go to New Zealand for our big deal  honeymoon, but that's a really big trip, and we will be doing a lot of backpacking/kayaking/outdoor type stuff, and that (plus the time of year) wasn't really compatible with the big build up to the wedding (not exactly a beachy, hang-around kind of vacation where you recoup from all the wedding craziness). But we did want to do something just the two of us to have that together time right after the wedding, so we're going down to southern CA for a few days- a few days in Palm Springs to lay by the pool and hike in Joshua Tree, then a couple days at Disneyland to have fun. So I'd say, do something within a few weeks of the wedding, even if it's just a long weekend in a nearby city or something, to set some time aside for just you two.
    Warning No formatter is installed for the format bbhtml