Wedding Invitations & Paper

Invitation help!

I really need some help with our invitations. I decided to have them designed by belletristics because I have not been able to find a stock one that I like. Now this makes it more complicated since I have to get them printed and there are a lot of details involved such as what type of paper to use, sizing, etc.
I would like to use a Metallic pocketfold and have the invitation and enclosures printed on metallic cardstock.
My questions is.. would it be cheaper to have them printed by a professional printing shop (such as kinkos) or would it be cheaper for me to print them myself?
I don't have a printer but I need to buy one anyway so I wouldn't consider that expense as part of the invitation costs.
Also, has anyone used metallic cardstock for printing ? I am wondering whether I will have any problems printing on that type of paper, or if a certain type of printer is needed.

Sorry for all of the questions, I'm not very good with these sort of things and I don't want to cause myself more headaches.

Re: Invitation help!

• For the printing, what sort of printer are you buying?  You'll want to use a nice laser printer.  Are you planning on buying a nice printer or just a little bubble jet?  If you're planning on buying a nice printer, it would be cheaper to print at home than to have them printed.

Check with cardsandpockets.com for supplies.  They have the pocketfolds and are pretty reasonable.

I'm not sure about the metallic inserts.  I've never seen them, so I'm not sure what they'd require to print.  If you find them, get a sample and print it on what you have or take it to kinkos before you order the whole set.