Wedding Customs & Traditions Forum

When to Change Last Name

This may be a stupid question, but when should you change your last name? I always assumed you started that process after the wedding but here is the thing--I'm a teacher and I am getting married in August. School starts up in September.

Other teachers have told me just to change my name before the wedding leagally so that when I am filling out all of next years (2013-2014 academic year) information I can just use my soon-to-be married name. Is that crazy? Do people do that? But then once the honeymoon is over and I am back in school come September all my information will need to get changed anyways so should I just take care of that sooner?

Thoughts?

Re: When to Change Last Name

• You will need your marriage license in order to change your name without petitioning a court and paying legal fees.  Ask your HR office, but I think you'll have to fill out your employment foms with your current name and then make changes after your name is legally changed.
  • I would just explain to your HR that you are getting married and will be changing your name, and let them decide when/how you fill out paperwork.  
  • Yeah, you need a marriage certificate for SS and the DMV to easily do a name change (what I am doing right now). It seems like a PITA to try to do it before the wedding.
    photo a826c490-726a-4824-af5c-d938878de228_zpseb85bb5a.jpg
  • libby2483libby2483 member
    5 Love Its First Anniversary Name Dropper First Comment
    edited April 2013
    I would just wait and do it as soon as possible after the wedding.