Wedding Cakes & Food Forum

Family Style Food

So I m getting married next october and one of the ways that we thought we could save money is to have a family style dinner. I hate buffets. I think they are kind of tacky and the food can go cold or get soggy. I just wanted an opinion on either doing the food myself (I'm a professional cook and I know how to multi task) or to hire a caterer to do it for me. I just have this fear of the food being bland and typical wedding food. 

Re: Family Style Food

• When I went to a family style wedding, there was basically just enough food for each person at the table to take a serving, and then the servers quickly refilled the serving plates.  That's what you have to do to prevent cold or soggy food, and you can also do this with a buffet (we did).  I am not sure if family style would be cheaper than a plated meal--you would have to see what your caterer offered if you went with a caterer.  If you did it yourself, I would think you would have to have more food with family style, since whenever people serve themselves, they may take more than a planned serving.  

Even if you are a professional cook, I would think hard about doing this yourself.  You will have enough going on the day of your wedding and in the days right before it.  You would still need to have staff to serve the food and prepare everything day of, too.
  • I have been to family style weddings and much of what the posters above said are true. I always had enough to eat, but then the plates are gathered in the middle of the table, and to me, it looks less elegant than a buffet. It also limits the "other" stuff you can have on the table like centerpieces or favors........then it truly gets clustered together.