Wedding Reception Forum

Help with friends and family living ALL over the country.

My fiance and I have friends and family from coast to coast (most of which can't afford to travel for our wedding). We have come up with the idea of doing like a "known" elopement or "private" destination wedding in Wyoming where my Grandparents own a lodge we would stay at. My question is, how would I even explain that to people in announcements or whatever? We do however want to make a road trip from Salt Lake City, Utah (where my family lives) back to South Georgia (where we live and where my fiance's family lives) and have little receptions with my family in SLC, our friends and family in Dallas, Tx and back home in South Georgia. It seems like so much, but there are over 200 people who we all cherish and wish to spend this moment with. I'm new to the whole planning thing as we just got engaged this week but being the perfectionist that I am, I'd like to get the ball on the road and be prepared! Any ideas or suggestions would be MUCH appreciated. 

Re: Help with friends and family living ALL over the country.

• oh christ. everyone has friends and family all over the place. your situation is not unique.

have one wedding at the lodge and call it a day. that's it.

• Our family and friends live coast to coast in Canada, my family in the west and fiance's is in the east.  We chose to have our wedding in wine country in the west, one of the most beatiful places in canada.  were treating it like a destination wedding, we live 10 hours awayfrom there.  I just sent out save the dates (a year in advance) so that family and friends could have time to save, on my website i included all types of accomodation including camping, there are options for everyone.  we know that not everyone can make it, we wil still end up with a 100 guests and all the people who are the most important to us are making the trip.  Bonus is, much more cost effective with less people!!

• Jen4948Jen4948 member