Just Engaged and Proposals
Options

Groom wants a small wedding, Bride doesn't want one at all!

So I've been with someone for eight years and we finally decided to go for it. 
I work in the events industry and have seen every bridal suite/hall imaginable across the USA, so I can't imagine getting married in a wedding "factory" as we call them. 

My dream has always been to have a secret wedding somewhere far away with no guests or white dress and no hoopla. 
I don't need people to buy me things and will be requesting charity donations only to help homeless and hungry in my city. 

My guy is a bit more traditional and wants a small wedding with close family and friends. 
The thought of having to deal with invites, vendors etc makes my stomach churn. I would probably get so overwhelmed that I would stay in bed the day of!  
I am also against the idea of dumping money into the wedding industry that takes advantage of so many people's fantasy day.  

Has anyone had this experience and been able to come to a compromise? 

Re: Groom wants a small wedding, Bride doesn't want one at all!

• Options
    gaga4242 said:
    So I've been with someone for eight years and we finally decided to go for it. 
    I work in the events industry and have seen every bridal suite/hall imaginable across the USA, so I can't imagine getting married in a wedding "factory" as we call them. 

My dream has always been to have a secret wedding somewhere far away with no guests or white dress and no hoopla. 
    I don't need people to buy me things and will be requesting charity donations only to help homeless and hungry in my city. 

My guy is a bit more traditional and wants a small wedding with close family and friends. 
    The thought of having to deal with invites, vendors etc makes my stomach churn. I would probably get so overwhelmed that I would stay in bed the day of!