Honeymoon Discussions

NWR--Planning short trip, maybe Hill Country area, TX or New Orleans?

Hi Ladies,

I'm just looking for travel advice.  H and I want to go on a little trip (first since the honeymoon) around Christmas.  I'm a teacher, so I'm off for winter break, but that's also peak travel time, so a lot of destinations are too expensive or crowded.

We live in Houston, and we don't want to spend too much money.  We really can't afford to fly anywhere (unless we found $100 airfare or something).  We've been to Austin and San Antonio a million times (although those are great!).  

We'd really like a place just to go for a few nights where we can relax, get a nice hotel room, and have a few little fun places and restaurants to go to.  Nothing crazy.  We're looking at the following options within a decent drive from Houston

1.  New Orleans.  We went once briefly, and H didn't like it because he doesn't like the crowded bourbon street scene.  But I'm thinking we could go to a more quiet part of town and enjoy the city's more historical side.  Any ideas/suggestions?  Is New Orleans nice around Christmas/New Years?

2.  Hill Country area, TX.  Maybe Marble Falls, New Braunfels, Fredericksburg.  I don't know.  Maybe a nice bed and breakfast or resort with some nice shops and restaurants nearby?  Ideas/Suggestions?

3.  Any third option that I'm not thinking of?  Probably need to stay somewhere in TX or LA.

Thanks for any help!  

SaveSave

Re: NWR--Planning short trip, maybe Hill Country area, TX or New Orleans?

• We did Fredricksburg this year on spring break.  They have some nice wineries there although we didn't go to any of them.  We mainly just walked up and down main street and saw the shops and we also hiked to Enchanted Rock.  The only question I would have would be the weather at that time of year.  There is a lot of walking around outside to be done so if it's cold, not sure how fun that would be.