Wedding Party
Options

Just a Question...

I've been lurking for awhile & this has been bugging me...years ago (back in the dark ages of the late 70's) when my sis was planning her wedding I seem to remember all of her bridal magazines had charts listing the "duties" of the wedding party - things that were supposed to be the responsibility of the best man, MOH, etc. 
Today I'm reading that the wedding party doesn't have to do anything except buy the outfit & show up.
Did this change over the last 20-30 years or am I crazy and just imagining those charts & lists?
It doesn't matter to me personally, because it never came up in my first wedding or this one, but I was just wondering...

Re: Just a Question...

• Options

Thanks everybody! It's good to know I'm not crazy... I'm not good at asking people to do things for me anyway, and since I'm only having my daughter & FSIL I doubt it would do me much good to demand things!

• Options
    Funny thing:  I WAS married in 1978, and back then WPs did not have duties AT ALL.  I was in several weddings, and was never once asked to  do wedding "chores":  making favors, addressing invitations, stuffing envelopes, going venue shopping, going to tastings, planning or throwing showers. 

I didn't ask anyone in my WP to do any of those things for me, either.  Not a single member of my WP were at any showers. And I didn't attend any showers for the brides in which I was a member of the WP.  We didn't have b-parties in those days, so that wasn't an issue either.

We quite literally did just wear the dress on wedding day, walk down the aisle, smile in the pictures, and then have fun at the reception.  We had no expectations and did not expect our friends to be servants for the months leading up to the wedding.

There are some things that people are much smarter about now (WPs are not about symmetry or gender) but to be honest, there were things that were just easier and not such a big freakin' productcion thirty years ago.