Catholic Weddings

should i get married in the Church??

Hello, this is my first time posting. I recently got engaged and am trying to start planning but am having trouble deciding whether or not I want to get marriend in the Church.
I am currently a non-practicing Catholic- just mass with the family on holidays. I do not belong to any parish-unless I'm still considered part of my family's church. But I was raised Catholic, made all my sacrements, went to Catholic school etc. My fiance is also a non practicing Catholic - but grew up in another country so I am not sure if he has documentation of his sacrements.
At first I wanted a non-religious ceremony mostly because it seems simpler to have the ceremony and reception in the same place. I am trying to have a simple but nice budget wedding. My fiance agreed with this and thinks it is hipocritical for us to need a Church wedding when we don't actually go to church. However I do want to raise our children Catholic. And part of me likes the idea of a church wedding.

My parents want us to get married in the Catholic Church. My mother only cares because she worries about what the rest of my religious relatives willl think. This doesn't bother me. :)
My dad actually seemed sad though when I mentioned we probably wouldn't have a Catholic ceremony. This bothers me.

I don't know what to do and don't want to regret my decision either way.

Re: should i get married in the Church??

• Theresa626Theresa626 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    I think you should do what you feel is best for you and your fiance only.  To be honest with you, getting married in the church is kind of a royal pain and if you're not really into it, you might wonder later on down the road why you chose to do it that way.