Michigan-Grand Rapids

Wedding Budgeting

Hey everyone,
I am completely new to this, so please bare with me :)
We have been engaged for quite some time now and it is finally coming down to "are we going to elope or have an actual wedding?"  I, myself have always dreamed of a HUGE wedding... My fiance is an only child and is fine with eloping... 
Our problem is... his family is very traditional and feel the brides family (father to be exact) should pay for the wedding... I do not have the best relationship with my dad and whenever the subject of paying for the wedding is brought up he backs out and doesn't give me an answer... 
My fiance feels that we should not have to pay (old tradition) and he would rather spend the money on a fence or a shed or something for the house we just built instead of spending the money on a one day thing.
HELP! Does anyone have any advice on how I can resolve this situation!?!
We are getting married on 11.11.11 one way or another...
Thanks for your help in advance!

Re: Wedding Budgeting

• edited December 2011
    Would your Mom or another close relative be able and willing to chip in? If a huge wedding is what's important to you, then you should figure out how to make that happen within your budget. You could either do a backyard wedding where you can provide your own alcohol (HUGE money saver!!) or find a place where you can bring in your own alcohol. There aren't many places that allow that, but they are out there.

Other ideas:
    ~ Nice artificial flowers instead of real
    ~ Buy a secondhand/used wedding dress on Craigslist or a secondhand shop
    ~ Make your own wedding invitations, programs, etc.
    ~ Have just one photographer instead of a team of two
    ~ Use recorded music for the ceremony instead of hiring an organist or string quartet/harpist/etc.
    ~ Have a friend man an iPod instead of hiring a DJ

There are tons of websites that have great ideas for low budget weddings. Good luck!
  • edited December 2011