Illinois-Southern Illinois
Options

Budget wedding in St. Louis?

Hello all!  I have never written on here before, but I figured that I would give it a shot and see what kind of advice is out there...I was wondering if anyone had any great tips on hosting a budget wedding in STL or surrounding areas.  We are looking to keep it between $5,000 and $10,000, which is max.  I was hoping for an outdoor wedding, with the ceremony and reception being held at the same location.  The Botanical Gardens is nice, but very pricey when trying to keep the budget so low.  Do you think that it is possible to host a nice wedding with such a small budget?  Is it worth contacting a wedding planner?  I am really hoping to make it look and feel like it cost a lot, but it really didn't.  HELP!

Re: Budget wedding in St. Louis?

• Options
    edited December 2011
    Try the jewel box at Forest Park maybe?  FP has loads of nice places to host your ceremony.  I am doing a <10,000 wedding too and I refuse to get a wedding planner (the ceremony is DW).  I wouldn't if I were you.  You don't want to sink 20% of your budget into someone that tells you what to do, do you? 
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    As long as you have a small guest list, you can pull off the Shrine in Belleville or the Falls in Columbia, IL.  The Falls has an outdoor area for the wedding, but it is a small area and then they have rooms for the reception of course.
    If you want a St. Louis Wedding, try Town Grove Park, its inexpensive, but you're guests will need to stand, unless you rent chairs.
    We are well under $10,000, but I had to use CKL of I  in Swansea, so I could have a 300-400 guest list. It was only $11.25 a plate, so the reception budget is $4,000.
    And I'd skip the wedding planner as long as you have someone to help you- bridesmaids, moms, fiance, crazy Aunt, etc. Good Luck!
  • Options
    edited December 2011