South Asian Weddings
Options

Indian Parents...... Don't approve

Hi, I'm new to the message boards, I need some advise. I am Mexican-American and my SO is Indian. He was born in India to well educated so they are a bit more modern than traditional. We've been together for almost two years and we both know we want to get married and have kids. He brought his parents here last summer to meet me and give us their blessings. He travels for work so he's not home much, I took them out and played tourguide. I had just graduated undergrad and was pressured to find a good job because they would approve more if I did. I managed to land an amazing job before they left and they we're still unhappy because I didn't have a masters. Two days before they left his dad told him he did not approve of the marriage and to end the relationship. "It has nothing to do with her, she's a good girl. But she's not Indian and her mother and brother are divorced." This is what his dad said. So for the past year its been nothing but arguments from all sides. I tried to leave him once and he would not let me he refuses to give me up but he wants his parent's approval. His aunt and uncle met me and they approve, they think we're a good match. Apparently they think that if he marries an American it will end up in divorce, the children will know nothing of their culture, and i will never allow him to go to India. This is all untrue and they are passing judgement. I have learned how to cook Indian food, trying to learn Hindi, and I'm the one that drags him to temple. They will not listen to reason. The latest development is that they have been making matches for him and have been sending him Indian women to connect with. He went of on his dad and since then have stopped. But its just getting worse. I don't know what to do, they will never be happy no matter what i do. Please if anyone can provide insight i would love a fresh point of view.

Re: Indian Parents...... Don't approve

• Options