California-Los Angeles
Options

Venue Contract Negotiations - Please help!

Hi Ladies,

This is my first time posting here - although since I have started planning (just a month ago) I have perused through the message boards and have to say, you all offer AWESOME advice...

With that said, here's my dilemma:
FI and I were all set to book our reception and ceremony at Strawberry Farms in Irvine for next summer (2012). We have the contract in our hands and everything, however, when reading through it, there was one part that raised a red flag for us: "All food and beverage menu pricing changes each calendar year. Therefore in determining your final budget, please reference the actual year's pricing in which your event is scheduled to take place."

The venue does not have their 2012 pricing yet. When I asked the lady whom we have been working with about this, her response was: "The prices for next year may or may not change. If they did they did increase it may be around 10%. Unfortunately I do not know if they will be changing or not. "   (sorry, I don't know how to make the font/text size smaller after copying and pasting it)

Is this normal for other venues as well? I understand we're booking far in advance but how are we supposed to appropriately budget (we're paying for this ourselves) if the proposal and per person costs may be actually 10% more than what initially told us? I plan to call her and talk to her about it but I'd love to know ahead of time if this is standard practice or not.

Thank you in advance!!

Re: Venue Contract Negotiations - Please help!

• Options
    edited December 2011
    With many venues, actually, locking in this year's prices are a good reason to, well, book early. However, I think they might have that clause because with inflation and gas prices, it's very possible food costs could rise a lot by next summer.
    my read shelf:
    Meredith's book recommendations, liked quotes, book clubs, book trivia, book lists (read shelf)