Louisiana-New Orleans

nice simple ceremony....help

Hey all! I am a resident of ohio looking to get married in New Oreleans. My fiance is in the air force and stationed down south near LA and we want a simple and small ceremony somewhere in New Oreleans. We're looking at sometime possibly next month...I know it's quick but we dont want to mess with decorations and fussing over what shade of peach! :) Our marriage is more important to us than the wedding. Does anyone have any suggestions for somewhere nice and simple that could hold about 10 people for a ceremony? Reception we are just going out to dinner...no idea where, but we'll get there eventually! THANK YOU all for helping out this confused ohio girl!

Re: nice simple ceremony....help

• edited December 2011
    Thanks for posting this - I, too, am from out of state.  The total wedding party will be 16 people - all friends, no family, and almost half of them don't drink, for a Tuesday night wedding.  All I keep finding are packages for larger events, or an emphasis on an 'open bar' -- which just really isn't a draw.  I've had the Hotel Provincial on my radar for a couple of weeks (now adding Beauregard/Keyes House) - but also interested in looking at SMALL courtyards for the wedding either in the FQ or GD.  Thinking of getting a balcony on Bourbon for a seated dinner afterwards, or would be interested in renting out an entire B&B.If anyone can suggest small courtyards that you passed on because they were too small, I would greatly appreciate information on these locations.  The vision is lush green foilage with candles - and a hint of chill in the January air (hey, I'm from MN - we wear shorts when it's 50 degrees...)Thanks all!Lynn
  • edited December 2011