California-San Diego

Hotels near Beach Area

Hi Girls
I am an RI knottie but am coming to San Diego in June for a wedding.
Its my first time in California so I'm pretty thrilled. The wedding is on a Saturday in Hemet-- so I think we will stay around there

but i wanted to come a few days earlier to check out san diego(fiance really wants to move or get a vacation home in the area0

I have NO idea about the area and im trying to do some research online but I cant really find what i am looking for.

I am basically just looking for a list of a few hotels, that are 4 star or higher located near the beach or at least walking distance from water/beach.

I do't even really know what area to be looking in. I figured most people having their weddings there will know the best hotels.

As well, the girl's ceremony is at the San diego lds temple- we can't go since I'm not LDS but  I am not sure what area of town it is in. WHen I look it up online it just says "downtown" but living in a city myself, I know that could mean a vast area.

Does anyone know what neighborhood it is?
www.weddedeverafter.blogspot.com
167 Invited image 34 Attending image Declined 4 image Still Waiting 129 image

Re: Hotels near Beach Area

• edited December 2011
    I am pretty sure the LDS temple is in La Jolla, but that means that it is about two hours from Hemet.  THat seems really far!

If you want five stars and to be able to walk to the beach, I would suggest La Jolla.  La Jolla Shores is right on the beach and is a great hotel!  Another option would be Coronado.  THey have a mariott and the world famous Hotel Del Coronado :)
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • wendysandiegowendysandiego member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    In La Jolla:

La Valencia hotel
    Grande Colonial
    La Jolla Beach and Tennis Club

Del Mar:
    L'Abuberge Del Mar

There are also a lot in the Mission Bay area: I don't know if they are 4 star, but you can look them up:
    The Dana
    Paradise Point