Pennsylvania-Philadelphia
Options

Invitation? how to write the year

My family and I are debating how to write the year.  Should it be Two Thousand Ten or Two Thousand and Ten.  I found this on crane's ettiquette page but it doesn't really say what's right. 

Isn't it incorrect to use "and," as in "Two thousand and one"? In mathematics "and" denotes a decimal point, and since there’s no decimal point in the year "2001," it may seem incorrect to use "and." Wedding invitations, however, are not mathematical equations, so the use of "and" as a decimal point is irrelevant. On wedding invitations, "and" is used simply as a connective word.

Re: Invitation? how to write the year

• Options
    edited December 2011
    I am a math teacher :)  "and" - at least in the US - signifies a decimal point, so leaving the "and" out is grammatically correct.  However - back up on this maybe, NCV? in other countries grammatical rules can differ. (For example, comma rules vary somewhat between the US and the UK.) I believe that the "and" is one of these things.  Many examples of invitation wording I have found use "and", actually.

My opinion?  Use whatever looks better to you, whether it's grammatically correct or not. 
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    Mine say "and."  I based it off the sample invite I was shown but I've seen them done both ways.  I consider myself pretty anal retentive but this one doesn't bother me however it's written.  And I know no one is going to what the "proper" ettiquette is anyway.    
    Yorkie Jenga

Daisypath Anniversary tickers
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    I used 2010. And between not receving responses, getting text respness and a phone call response - I'm glad I didnt spend a ton of time on the little things of hte invite.

ps-  im crabby today.l
  • Options
    edited December 2011
    I have to take a grammer and spelling test in a few weeks and I'm crapping my pants, so yes it's different.