June 2013 Weddings

Not Planning Yet?!

Hello! So we just got engaged on Christmas Eve (total shock - he was always the type to say "I'm never getting married, etc).
I'm not going crazy with planning just yet but I want to at least set a freaking date!! I'm thinking June 2013 so I can really start diving into planning this spring/summer but he wants to hear nothing about it. WTF?? Anyone else??

Re: Not Planning Yet?!

• first of all CONGRATS!! :)

im still kinda new at this too but what i am hearing is that if you want to guarentee june 2013 because it is so popular you need to start soon...for the venue and the ni think u can chill out a bit
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • Klyn1983Klyn1983 member
    First Comment
    edited December 2011
    Congrats! Just like Nay said, pick a date and secure a venue before you start any other planning. The location will completely change every other detail. If your FI is dragging his feet a little bit, have him call around to see on available dates. I did that with mine and as soon as he realized places were fully booked almost 2 years in advance, he sat down on his own and looked up venues. (and then a week later we put down a deposit and set the date!)

Also, from what you said in your post, I get the vibe that he didn't really want to get married. Maybe that has something to do with his resistance? -please don't take that the wrong way. Just saying that perhaps he needs a few days to let it sink in. 

Edited to clarify.
    Wedding Countdown Ticker