Just Engaged and Proposals

Hello, there! Engaged about a month here!

Hi, I'm Emily, and I'm pretty new to The Knot, so I thought this might be a good place to start. :)

My fiance proposed about a month ago. The whole event was well-attended by the the police, the Zodiac Killer, the saints and that guy who had a really hard time parallel-parking his car on the streets of Chicago. After all that, I said yes.

I guess I should explain.

At first, I couldn't understand why he was so insistent about going on a date to see a crappy Michael Cera movie at the dollar theater. Although, "Scott Pilgrim vs. the World" turned out to be pretty good. And the sushi restaurant afterward was really, really good. But when he suggested afterward that we go for a walk... down by Lake Michigan... and have dessert... Then I knew what was going on. He was recreating our first two dates (Two years ago, the crappy Michael Cera movie was "Nick and Nora's Infinite Playlist"). He was about to propose.

And then I got nervous.

It's a long drive from our neighborhood to the lakeshore, and closer we got, the more nervous I got. Another car pulled in behind us when we stopped at the park. No one got out, and we couldn't see who was inside. Which made me not just nervous, but completely freaked out.

"I think it's the Zodiac Killer," I said.

"I think it's the police," he said.

To make a long story short, I made him go talk to the Zodiac Killer, who turned out to be the police after all and who kicked us out of the park, which was closing. Which meant we had to think of another scenic locale for our, uh... "picnic."