Students
Options

Living apart after wedding...

Hi, I'm new to this but I was just wondering if any of you are living apart after getting married?  My FI and I have been living three hours apart since August of 09 because I am working on finishing my doctorate and he is a teacher and coach.  I generally see him every two weeks but it has been as long as 4 or as little as 1 before.  Our wedding is August 13, 2011 and at that time I only have about ten months of school left and then I go on rotations who knows where.  We feel like it doesn't make a lot of sense for him to move when we love where he lives now.  Is anyone else living apart so they can finish school?  Any suggestions on getting our friends/family to understand our choice?
Miranda and Clint PersonalMilestone

Re: Living apart after wedding...

• Options
    frenchy730frenchy730 member
    First Comment
    edited May 2010
    Mind if I ask why you are deciding to get married before you finish your school and are able to live together?

I don't judge people who get married while in school if it works for them.  How much longer would you be away due to rotations?  Is there any possibility of him getting another position where you are?  Or can you transfer to a school there?
  • Options
    A friend of mine did it.  They got married shortly before she finished graduate school, and he still had some podiatry rotations left.  I don't know all of their reasons for not waiting to get married, but it worked okay for them.

Of course she missed him all the time, but that wasn't much different from when they were just dating/engaged.  I'm sure she got a lot of strange looks about it, but really whatever works for you.
    Image and video hosting by TinyPic
    Lilypie First Birthday tickers
  • Options