African American Weddings

Reception Help

Hello Ladies!!! I am a newbie to this board. But anyhoo, my wedding date is October 19 and my colors are red, black, and a little silver. My girls are wearing short black dresses with rose boutquets. The men are wearing black tuxes with red vest and bow ties with red rose boutineers, Hubby and I are both weasring all white. So..... me and my wedding planner are clashing about the decor for the reception. She thinks I should go with white table clothes and chair covers. I totally disagree simply because white is not one of my colors. I want to have black table clothes and chair covers with red napkins and sashes. I will have oversized martini glasses with floating candles as my centerpieces with tealights around it. She says that i will have too much black and it will make the venue too dark. I think that the candles and some uplighting will lighten it up. What do u ladies think? Also, I cant decide on what color uplighting I should have. Im trying to stay away from too much red. I  was thinking of maybe amber or something down that line. What do you ladies think?
Mrs. Mosley 2 be

Re: Reception Help

• Hi I'm new so I hope you don't mind me responding.

Do you have any pictures of something similar to your vision, and what are the wall colors? If they are white then the uplighting will help, however if they are dark you may want to consider the white option (it can be a one off color. On a side note you have final say, so if it turns out too dark tell the planner to get herself some flash lights cause that's the way you want it, lol.
    Daisypath Wedding tickers
  • First I will say WELCOME to both of you.. and CONGRATS I think a pic of your inspiration will be helpful. You seem to have a lot of decisions made.. and its great you already have WP.. her job is of course to guide you the right way.. but she also should be bringing YOUR VISION to life...
    Wedding Countdown Ticker
  • keyaira04keyaira04 member